Showing posts with label Harefield Park. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Harefield Park. Show all posts

Thursday, May 21, 2009

Harefield Park - Miss Ethel Gray.

This article from the British nursing Journal 24th April 1915, is an interview with Miss Ethel Grey, who was the matron at Harefield Park. Interviewed in Kensington it gives a fascinating insight to British traditions of the day in the language of the time.

"AN INTERVIEW WITH MISS GRAY,

The exigencies of the War have brought to this country many of our colleagues from our Empire Over Seas, inspired with the love of the Mother Country, which impels them to hasten to her aid. One of the latest arrivals is Miss Ethel Gray, Matron in the Australian Army Nursing Service, who, with five Sisters, Miss L. Pratt (Senior Sister), Miss H. Chadwick, Miss E. Mills, Miss M. Hayes and Miss R. Kidd - all fully certificated and members of the Royal Victorian Trained Nurses’ Association - have come from Australia to staff the Convalescent Home, Harefield Park, near Uxbridge, given by Mr. Billiard Leake as a convalescent Home for sick and wounded Australians, and equipped by the generosity of the Commonwealth. The Medical Officer, Captain Southey, is expected to arrive shortly.

I found Miss Gray in the pretty sitting-room, placed at her disposal by Miss Cave, the Lady Superintendent of the Kensington Gardens Club, at 57, Kensington Gardens Square, S.W., where she is at present staying; the other Sisters, with the exception of Miss Kidd, are now happily at work at the Royal Victoria Hospital, Netley, and appreciative of the opportunity of an insight into English military methods.

The uniform of the Australian Army Nursing Service is both distinctive and becoming. It consists of a grey serge gown for the Matron, with chocolate- coloured cuffs. And a cape-simi1ar to that worn by the Sisters of our own Military Nursing Service, but differing slightly in shape. When on duty Miss Gray will wear grey zephyr. The Sisters also wear a grey zephyr gown, with two chocolate bands on the cuffs, and the red cape. The large silver buttons, with the letters “ G.R.,” are both distinctive and handsome ; and the cap is that worn by our Military, Reserve and Territorial Services.


The badge of the Service which, by the kindness of Miss Gray, we here reproduce, has as its centre a red cross worked in silk, enclosed in a circle in .which are the words, “Australian Army Nursing Service,” and in a wreath of leaves, worked on the Matron’s badge, in silver wire and on the Sisters’ in silk ; the whole is surmounted by a Crown. It is worn by the Matrons on the right fore-arm, and by the Sisters above the elbow. The out-door uniform consists of long grey coats, and a grey bonnet, with a chocolate band beneath the grey brim. Both Matron and Sisters wear a silver brooch, which has a crown as its centre, behind which is the rising sun, and inscribed upon a scroll, the words, “Australian Commonwealth Military Force.”

Miss Gray who, when she left Australia, was Matron of the Perth Hospital, in Western Australia, was trained at the Melbourne Hospital, first under Miss M. D. Farquharson, of whom she speaks with admiration: and then under Miss Amy L.Burleigh, by whom she was promoted to the position of Sister: and remaining in all for twelve years, latterly with Miss J. Bell, well known to many nurses in both England and Scotland. It is an interesting fact that Miss Farquharson was an Hon. Member and Miss Burleigh and Miss Bell have been members of the Matrons’ Council of Great Britain and Ireland-so small is the world, and so far-reaching the influence of the Matrons Council.

The Perth Hospital, of which Miss Gray is Matron, as she has had leave of absence for her present work, has, with a Branch Hospital under its jurisdiction, over 300 beds; it is, therefore, an important training school.

The Australian Army Nursing Service, of which Miss Gray is a member, includes Miss Gould and Miss Bell as Principal Matrons, both of whom went with the contingent of 161members of the Service to Egypt. The latest news of Miss Gould is that, with some of the Sisters, she has gone to the Dardanelles, to help to provide the nursing staff, which it is anticipated will be required shortly.

In each of the States in Australia the Military Nursing Service has a Matron or Matrons ; it also includes Sisters and Staff Nurses. The members, who are, of course, all fully-trained and certificated, have to attend a special course of lectures before entering the Service. They provide their own uniform in time of peace, but if they go on active service the money they have expended is refunded.

The voyage from Australia was without exciting incident, but Miss Grav describes the passage through. the Suez CanaI very interesting. The ship passed close enough to the shore to permit their seeing the wire entanglements which protected it, and for passengers to throw oranges to the Indian troops stationed behind them.

Nursing organisation in Australia has, as our readers know, attained a high level of efficiency through the voluntary associations of nurses, but they are still working, and hoping, for Registration by the State. It is also instructive to note how important it is that there should be uniformity of standards in the United Kingdom and the Dominions beyond the Seas. Thus the Royal Victorian Trained Nurses’ Association, of which Miss Glover (another member of the Matrons’ Council) is now President, is unable to recognise the certificate of the Central Midwives Board, as the Board only insists on a period of three months‘ training, whereas the R.V.T.N.A. requires six. There is, however, a probability that this difficulty will be overcome in the near future by the adoption of the six months’ term of training by the Central Midwives Board.

The more recent developments of nursing in Victoria are the Bush Nursing Scheme, which is now beginning to take root, and Visiting Nursing, which Miss Gray considers has a most useful future before it. Miss Primrose, who was the pioneer of this work, is now known as “The Lady with the Car,” as she has set up a motor car which takes her quickly to her cases. Many others use bicycles. As in this country, the engagement of a private nurse is a heavy expense to middle class people, and there is the difficulty of lack of accommodation. When, therefore, the whole time service of a nurse is not needed, or cannot be afforded, the visiting nurse is very welcome, and increasingly in demand.

Miss Gray and her unit are under the general direction of Sir George Reid, the High Commissioner for Australia, and more immediately under that of Major Norris, with whom Miss Gray is at present working at the office in Victoria Street, S.W. "

Wednesday, May 20, 2009

Harefield Park - in 1915.

This article from the British Nursing Journal dated 24th July 1915, gives a good description of how the rooms and beds were set up at Harefield Park.


“AUSTRALIAN HOSPITAL AT HAREFIELD PARK.

Harefield House, the first Australian Auxiliary Hospital, at Harefield Park, near Uxbridge, is one of the splendid gifts placed at the service of the mother Country by the Commonwealth of Australia and the generosity of those having ties with Australia, notably Mr. Billyard Leake, to whom the loan of the house is due.

The house is some five miles distant from Uxbridge, but a drive in golden sunshine through the lovely country, past cottages where periwinkles grow in the hedgerows, and through a countryside steeped in peace, is some compensation for the slowness of the only available conveyance, and the tendencies of its horse to return to Uxbridge instead of proceeding to Harefield Park.

As the Jehu admitted subsequently, “he is getting old and artful, like myself.” But at least one’s enjoyment of the surrounding loveliness is prolonged, the only reminder of war being an aeroplane poised like a bird in the clear ether.

Harefield House is a handsome, substantial, square house, in the centre of the park, overlooking a peaceful lake, and as great a contrast as possible to the stress and tumult of the war zone, from which those for whose service it has been prepared with so much care have lately arrived. Adjoining the central hall are the rooms where stores are received and sorted, and the operating theatre, spacious and well arranged, with a large window overlooking the garden. The wards are on the first floor, where the rooms, of varying size, form the four sides of a square, round a central wall, and all open into one another. One overlooking the lake is specially charming. The Matron, Miss Ethel Gray, of the Australian Army Nursing Service, greatly appreciates the beauties of the place, both as a feature in the treatment of the patients who come under her care, and as an enjoyable element in her own life and that of the Sisters.

The hospital, the capacity of which was originally 50 beds, has now been extended to the regulation size of a military hospital, containing 520, and huts have been erected in the grounds close by, with well-arranged offices and extra kitchens, although in the house itself the kitchen staff can cook for over 300.

A hospital of this size needs large supplies, and the Australian Red Cross Society has given no less than 1,460 blankets, 1,403 pillow-slips, besides socks, shirts, housewives, and Mrs. Collins, wife of Captain Collins, Secretary for the Commonwealth, has sent pyjamas, shirts, bandages, dressing gowns, and writing pads, all much-appreciated gifts. Amongst the visitors to the hospital have been Sir Edmund and Lady Barton, who brought welcome gifts of cigarettes.

The nursing staff working under Miss Gray wear the distinctive uniform of the Australian Army Nursing Service.

The unit, of which Captain Southey is Medical Officer and Miss Gray Matron, is under the general direction of Sir George Reid, the High Commissioner for Australia.

Recently Mrs. Rita Fiske gave a tea and entertainment to the patients which was greatly appreciated."

Tuesday, May 19, 2009

Harefield Park - No.1 Australian Auxiliary Hospital.

No. 1 Australian Auxiliary Hospital was situated at "Harefield Park", Harefield, Middlesex. Australian residents Mr and Mrs Charles Billyard-Leake offered the property in November 1914, to be used as a Home for convalescent wounded soldiers of the A.I.F. Their offer was accepted by the Commonwealth Defence Department in December 1914.
The property comprised Harefield Park House, a plain three-storey brick structure, some outbuildings, and ample grounds. At the time of the acceptance of the offer it was estimated by the military authorities that the house would accommodate 50 soldiers under winter conditions and 150 during spring and summer. In fact, the hospital accommodated over 1,000 beds at the height of its use, and also a large nursing and ancillary support staff.

On the 19 January 1915, the Minister for Defence informed the Secretary, Department of External Affairs that approval had been given for the following staff:-
One Captain (A.A.M.C.), one Sergeant, one Corporal, four men as wardsmen and orderlies, also one Matron and five nursing sisters; the Medical Superintendent to be under the supervision of the High Commissioner.

Upon arrival in England, the Medical Superintendent was to purchase the necessary equipment for 150 patients in the summer, and 60 in the winter, and with his staff furnish and equip the house in readiness for use by Australian troops in the spring. The official date of opening was 4 June 1915.

The first Commanding Officer appointed for the Hospital Captain M. V. Southey, A.A.M.C. and his staff left Australia by the transport "Runic", due to arrive in England on, or about April 15, 1915, and the Matron Miss E. Gray, and five nurses, left by R.M.S. "Osterley", to arrive in England on, or about 27 March 1915. The names of the original nursing sisters were:- Senior Sister Pratt, and Sisters Mills, Chadwick, Kidd and Hayes, all of whom had been chosen specially for their fitness for the positions.
The work of the Depot was laid down in the following terms:
  • Rest home to recuperate after sickness or injury, for officers, warrant officers, N.C.O.'s and rank and file.
  • Depot for collecting invalids for return to Australia.


The work of the Depot became far wider as the War progressed, and in time all normal hospital functions were assumed, and by August 1918,it had been made a Centre for eye, ear, nose and throat diseases. It also maintained an Electrical Department where many hundreds of "Skiagrams" (early X-rays) were made. There were also massage and Dental Departments. By April 1918, the nominal roll of nursing staff had risen to 74. In May 1919, Mr Billyard-Leake offered "The Red House", Harefield for rental for accommodation for hospital personnel. By this time, the Hospital was contained in large huts, dispersed throughout the grounds of Harefield Park, there being nearly fifty buildings in use including workshops, garages, stores, messes, canteens, recreation hall, billiards room, cook house detention room and mortuary.


Amenities included the Red Cross Store which was opened in November 1916; the Patients Canteen - opened and conducted by a Committee comprising Mrs Charles Billyard-Leake, Miss Letitia Billyard-Leake, the Hon Mrs Lambart, Mrs Stedall and Miss Stedall, Mrs Evans, and Mrs Vennings - all ladies of the surrounding district. There was also a Billiard Room, Writing Rooms, and a Recreation Hall where daily concerts were given by visiting parties, as well as regular film shows. Mrs Gregg-MacGregor (wife of Chaplain Captain Cregg-MacCregor) managed the Library. Trips to London were arranged and paid for out of Canteen funds, and Mrs Vennings and other ladies made their cars freely available for country trips, picnics, and Journeys to and from the railway station, (both for patients and visitors to the Hospital).


An Orderlies Canteen was formed in January 1916 for the use of all ranks below sergeant. Suitable premises were found and converted in Canteen, Billiard Room, and Reading and Writing Rooms.


A small magazine was produced in November 1916, to be followed in December 1916 by the first issue of the official magazine, the Harefield Park Boomerang, issued under the editorship of the Director of Recreation and Study. It was subsequently published irregularly, until it was finally established as a monthly journal, and ran until the final issue - the Victory Number, December 1918.


Many awards and decorations were made at No.1. AAH, and one of note was that made to Staff Nurse Corkhill. A.A.N.S. The entry in the War Diary August 1918, Appendix III, (Sept 10, 1918) reads: Extract from A.I.F. List No. 375, 27.8.18 re S/Nurse E P Corkhill (now attached to No 1 A.A.H.).

“War Office 23rd August 1918. His Majesty the King has been pleased to approve of the award of the MILITARY MEDAL to the undermentioned lady for distinguished service in the Field, as recorded: Staff Nurse Pearl Elizabeth Corkhill, AANS; "For courage and devotion on the occasion of an enemy air raid. She continued to attend to the wounded without any regard to her own safety, though enemy aircraft were overhead. Her example was of the greatest value in allaying the alarm of the patients."”

The Hospital and its staff came under great strain during the outbreak of epidemic influenza with its pneumonic complications in 1918, and its highest monthly number of deaths was experienced in October/November 1918 due entirely to the epidemic.


On Anzac Day, April 1918, the third anniversary of the landing at Gallipoli, a Commanding Officers Parade of Staff and walking patients was held, and was attended by some 337 personnel. After inspection by the Commanding Officer, the whole marched through Harefield Village to the Parish Churchyard, headed by the Unit Band. Near the graves of the Australian soldiers, the troops were drawn up in formation of a hollow square under the Australian flag. The two Chaplains attached to the Hospital conducted the Memorial Service. Many prominent residents, of Harefield attended the service, together with friends of the hospital, and the nursing staff. The decoration of the graves with flowers was arranged by the wife of the Commanding Officer (Lieut Col Yeatman) and many ladies helped and contributed to the cost of flowers, or gave them from out of their own gardens.


The Hospital continued to function until January 1919, when it was gradually closed down. The Commanding Officer Lieut Colonel Yeatman was awarded the O.B.E. (Military Division) for his services.